“Death Be Not Proud…”

card by Retrospect.

It’s not an easy subject to talk about. Some people simply cannot or will not do it at all. But it’s on my mind, so I will. Death. I have encountered it twice recently, and it felt strange. Strange, because I encounter it so often at my job (hospital), but for some reason, it is affecting me differently now. I don’t know why. The unknown 41-year-old was a sad case. Brain dead. Organ donor. I had to help in his care, and I couldn’t help but think strange thoughts to myself. Had he shaved carefully that morning? Did he eat a good breakfast? What happened? It sends a cold shiver down me. And the person my friends and I all knew of; that was quite a shock. Car accident. Dead on scene. Was someone waiting for him at home? What appointments did he have the next day? Again, what happened? 

Something inside has jolted me out of a complacency. That is a good thing, because when people die and it doesn’t have much of an effect, that bothers me. Have I been in healthcare too long? No, I love it, and it’s all I really know. I suppose someone knew that I needed to wake up and smell the coffee: life is precious, but life can also be short. Love it, live it, enjoy and appreciate it. Every minute.

Leave a comment